/ / /
1401 2014 Acura Mdx Four Seasons Intro
four seasons long-term tests

2014 Acura MDX SH-AWD - Four Seasons Introduction

Patrick M Hoey
WINTER 2014 Acura MDX SH AWD Four Seasons Intro
2014 Acura MDX reviews to date

The three-row luxury crossover is the great automotive confluence of a cosseting cabin and people-carrying practicality, and the last-generation Acura MDX was one of our favorites. A 2012 model easily bested contenders from BMW, Infiniti, and Lincoln in an April 2012 comparison test, and as if to confirm our decision, the MDX has been Acura's best-selling model since 2011. No wonder we were so eager to get behind the wheel when a brand new 2014 Acura MDX arrived at last year's New York auto show.

New from the chassis up, the 2014 Acura MDX has smarter styling, a more modern interior, a few hundred fewer pounds of mass, and better fuel economy. For the first time ever, Acura launched a front-wheel-drive version alongside the AWD model. The MDX’s wheelbase is longer, its cabin better insulated, its equipment list more comprehensive, and its chassis designed for improved handling. Acura even claims the new MDX is eight seconds faster around the Nurburgring than its predecessor, a metric almost comically irrelevant to crossover buyers.

When ordering our ideal 2014 Acura MDX, we knew we'd rather have the Super Handling all-wheel drive (SH-AWD) than front-wheel drive, and then we sprung for the Advance and Entertainment packages. That pushed the price tag to $57,400, or $14,215 more than an entry-level MDX. That's certainly a hefty sum, but as a result our 2014 Acura MDX is overflowing with high-end gadgets.

For starters, we wanted SH-AWD because the system automatically shuffles torque between the left- and right-hand wheels to improve grip and handling, a blessing when the car arrived just before the Polar Vortex smothered Michigan with snow. On top of that, our 2014 Acura MDX boasts touchscreen navigation, heated and cooled front seats, push-button starting, a 16.2-inch rear screen with DVD player, a 12-speaker sound system, and adaptive cruise control with automatic emergency braking.

Immediately upon taking delivery, we dropped more money on the 2014 Acura MDX to prepare it for winter. First up was a set of durable rubber floor mats from our Acura dealership, which set us back $199.28 but should keep slush from ruining the crossover's carpets. Next came a set of Bridgestone Blizzak DM-V1 winter tires from our wheel and tire partner The Tire Rack, which cost $825.34 to purchase and mount.

There's no doubt that a well-appointed, spacious crossover will be in high demand for staffers taking road trips, so we expect our 2014 Acura MDX to quickly rack up tens of thousands of miles in dozens of states over the next twelve months. Just days after its arrival, the MDX was commandeered by staff photographer Patrick Hoey for a whirlwind feature-story assignment that took him from Michigan to South Carolina -- by way of Nashville, Tennessee.

2014 Acura MDX Specs
  • Overview
  • powertrain
  • chassis
  • measurements
  • equipment
  • options
Body style 4-door crossover
Accommodation 7-passenger
Construction Steel unibody
Base price (with dest.)$57,400
As tested $57,400
Engine 24-valve SOHC V-6
Displacement 3.5 liters (212 cu in)
Power 290hp @ 6200 rpm
Torque 267lb-ft @ 4500 rpm
Transmission 6-speed automatic
Drive 4-wheel
EPA Fuel Economy 18/27/21 (city/hwy/combined)
Steering Electrically assisted
Lock-to-lock 3.1 turns
Turning circle 37.6 ft
Suspension, Front Strut-type, coil springs
Suspension, Rear Multilink, coil springs
Brakes F/R Vented discs/discs
Wheels 19-inch aluminum
Tires Michelin Latitude Tour HP
Tire size 245/55R-19 103H
Headroom F/R 38.1/38.3/35.6 in
Legroom F/R 41.4/36.6/28.1 in
Shoulder room F/R 61.1/59.1/54.7 in
Wheelbase 111.0 in
Track F/R 66.3/66.3 in
L x W x H 193.6 x 77.2 x 66.7 in
Passenger capacity 132.3 cu ft
Cargo capacity (behind r/m/f row)15.8/45.1/90.9 cu ft
Weight 4318 lb
Weight dist. F/R 57.9/42.1%
Fuel capacity 19.5 gal
Est. fuel range 410 miles
Fuel grade 91 octane (premium)
  • Standard Equipment
    • Milano leather-trimmed interior
    • Heated and ventilated front seats
    • Heated second-row outboard seats
    • 115-volt power outlet
    • Adaptive cruise control
    • Forward collision prevention
    • Lane keeping assist
    • Keyless entry and ignition
    • Remote start
    • Rearview camera
    • Bluetooth
    • 10-way power driver’s seat
    • Power tailgate
    • Power sunroof
    • LED headlights
    • Automatic tri-zone climate control
    • Rear seat entertainment w/16.2-inch display
    • Auto-dimming rearview and exterior mirrors
    • Front and rear parking assist
    • Navigation w/real-time traffic updates
    • Blind spot monitoring system
    • SiriusXM satellite radio
    • ELS Studio 12-speaker audio system
    • Roof rails
    • Rear sunshades
  • Packages & Options
    • None
    Tim Lucas
    Someone needs to politely tell Acura their cars have ugly faces.
    Nicky David
    ugly desgned on the front
    Auburn Lock
    What they did not say is the reasons I came back home with all money in hand when I wanted to buy a 3rd MDX. The clearance dropped to 7.3"! So, it became a 'parquet' SUV and you would probably could not get to cross your deep snow driveway in a hurry to work after all night snow in Chicago. Basically the clearance became of a regular sedan. The lift gate height dropped from 35" in my 2006 to 32" in my 2011 to a shameful 28.5" in 2014. Can't move a chair anymore. So, Acura made a new crossover and their dealers call it 'SUV'.. Strange, Acura has no SUV in their line-up.
    Also, I disagree with the author, that acceleration is  "a metric almost comically irrelevant to crossover buyers". I don't like speed but I do like acceleration, makes me feel better about myself when I am in control of power.


    Joshua Blickhahn
    Will it fit people AND stuff? How much does the tech really add to the experience of ownership? Visibility: front, quarters, rear- with or without cameras/sensors? I get my engineering degree this semester, and this one is on my list to research.
    Lee Klein
    How is the visibility?
    John Lopez
    The RX is more of a RDX competitor than a MDX.
    John Lopez
    I know some have commented on the front end appearance. All I can say is I too hate the beak (grill), but it does look way better in person. In fact I suggest you take the time to check this vehicle out in person as it comes across as very premium. Unless you need a serious off road SUV I doubt you can do better than the new Acura MDX for the price in this segment. Can't wait to see the long term tests/reviews.
    btc909
    Probably nice to drive, useless 3rd row, ugly as since on the outside.  Custer F center stack.
    Joe Lussier
    It's got a face only a mother could love.
    Marc Hamady
    Acura needs RWD performance cars.
    Darren Songfreid
    I prefer the Lexus RX.
    R Scott Torgan
    Still UGLY. Acura needs to wake the Hell up!
    W8Acessorios
    @automobilemag @Acura_Insider follow me !!
    Vicky Dhan
    nice
    Richard Patterson
    I wish they weren't so freaking ugly.
    Thomas Saunders
    We bought a 2007 right as the new redesign/body style was released in late 2006. Amazing car. Sold it last year (3 kids didn't work well for us in an MDX) Deceptively quick for what it was. SH-AWD was amazing. From what I have read, the new MDX is "softer" - handling not as sharp, track decreased, height increased, power decreased. We loved the car because it was like a sedan in an SUV suit. Is the new one TRULY a better vehicle, dynamically

    buyer's guide

    Find vehicle reviews, photos, & pricing

    our instagram

    get Automobile Magazine

    Subscribe to the magazine and save up to 84% off the newsstand price

    subscribe

    new cars

    Read Related Articles

    TO TOP