Feature Flick: Red Bull Details New F1 Rules

We’ve heard how Formula 1 racing regulations are more stringent than ever for 2014. Now, in a dazzling video from Infiniti Red Bull racing, we can see how the rules have pushed racing engineers toward greater efficiency and performance.

Red Bull driver Daniel Ricciardo explains the changes made between last year’s RB9 racecar and this year’s RB10. Sitting in a virtual, transparent racecar, Ricciardo details how engineers responded to Formula 1’s new restrictions, and we literally see the changes being made piece by piece as the RB10 zips around the track.

Formula 1 will now demand that competition cars be “safer and more fuel efficient” than before. Cars will be forced to compete with 30 percent less fuel on board (which requires greater efficiency to avoid wasting that fuel), and engines will downsize from the current 2.4-liter V-8 to a 600-hp, 1.6-liter turbo V-6. Furthermore, instead of eight engines per car per season, teams will have to go the distance with just five.

Other changes include one extra transmission gear (eight, instead of seven), revised aerodynamics, and an updated energy recovery system. In addition to the existing electric motor/generator that gets energy from rear brake regeneration, the RB 10 adds a second electric unit that is powered by hot exhaust gas. With the new energy recovery system comes a larger battery pack, which can now sustain 160 hp of additional boost for 33 seconds per lap (up from just 6.6 seconds in the RB9.)

Infiniti Red Bull and champion Sebastien Vettel will look to continue their historic success in Formula 1, after winning both the constructor’s and driver’s each of the last four years. “Our goal will be to try to keep the trophies in the cabinet,” Red Bull Formula 1 boss Christian Horner told us last November.

Regardless of the new rules, Vettel and Red Bull will enter the 2014 Formula 1 season with a great shot at the podium. Check out the video below to see how they plan to get the job done for a fifth consecutive year.