Loeb Sets New Unlimited Record At 2013 Pikes Peak

This year's Pikes Peak cars have been shown and seen, and today's the day when it's put up or shut up time. And records were broken this Sunday, with Sebastien Loeb shattering past records with a 8:13.878 time in his Red Bull Peugeot 208 in the Unlimited class. Although Loeb took the overall record, there were other records broken in other classes as well.

As impressive as Loeb's time was, it wasn't the only record set at Pikes Peak. Paul Dallenbach, who recently hot-footed a 2014 Range Rover Sport up the hill to set a new production record, got behind the wheel of the Hyundai RMR Genesis Coupe driven by Rhys Millen last year to post a 9:46.001 in the Time Attack Class, an improvement of .163 seconds over Millen's record-setting 2012 Pikes Peak effort.

Nobuhiro "Monster" Tajima took first place in the Electric Class with his custom-built E-Runner race car with a time of 9:46.530. Mitsubishi fielded its second-generation MiEV Evolution II racer, driven by two-time Dakar Rally champion Hiroshi Masuoka, which completed the climb in 10:21.866. Teammate Greg Tracy came in third place in the Electric Class with a time of 10:23.649.

Check out Monster Tajima's 2013 Pikes Peak qualifying run in his E-Runner courtesy of an in-car GoPro camera, and Rhys Millen and Sebastian Loeb talk about their cars in preparation for this year's race below.

Source: Hyundai, Red Bull Racing, Mitsubishi, GoPro

New Car Research

Find vehicle reviews, photos & pricing

our instagram

get Automobile Magazine

Subscribe to the magazine and save up to 84% off the newsstand price


new cars

Read Related Articles