Formula 1 Will Not Use ‘Winner Takes All’ Scoring System in 2010

The unpopular ‘winner takes all’ scoring system was vetoed by the Formula 1 Teams’ Association for the 2009 season and was written into the early 2010 rules. Now, it seems that the FIA made a typo by including the new scoring system.

The new scoring system was included in Article 6.1 of the 2010 Regulations released on April 30. It was published as saying that the drivers’ title “will be awarded to the driver who has been classified first in the greatest number of races.” The FIA recently rewrote Article 6.1 to say that the drivers’ title “will be awarded to the driver who has scored the highest number of points.”

This means that Bernie Eccletone has once again lost the battle for the points system. It also means that the Drivers’ Championship will see no change in the way teams battled for the title in 2008 when it came down to the last turn at the Brazilian Grand Prix.

Source: F1 Live

New Car Research

Find vehicle reviews, photos & pricing

our instagram

get Automobile Magazine

Subscribe to the magazine and save up to 84% off the newsstand price


new cars

Read Related Articles