Automotive Hall of Fame Set to Honor 2010 Inductees

#Ford, #Ford

Eight car guys, including Francois Castaing, will be inducted into the Automotive Hall of Fame Tuesday, October 12. The formal ceremony will be at the Ford Community & Performing Arts Center. The seven other inductees beside Castaing join the Hall of Fame posthumously.

This year's inductees are:

  • Francois J. Castaing, who began his career in motorsports with Gordini and Renault, and then led product development for AMC and Chrysler.
  • Lewis M. Crosley and Powel Crosley Jr., builders of microcars in the U.S. from 1939-52.
  • Howard A. "Dutch" Darrin, designer of iconic European and American cars, including custom-bodied Packards and the Kaiser Darrin.
  • Edward S. "Ned" Jordan, who wrote the famous 1923 advertisement for his Jordan Playboy, "Somewhere West of Laramie."
  • Henry J. Kaiser and Joseph W. Frazer, American industrialists and founders of the Kaiser-Frazer Corporation, which built cars from 1946 to 1955.
  • George N. Schuster (pictured), winner of the 1908 New York-to-Paris race in his Thomas Flyer.

-- Todd Lassa

[bold]Thank you for honoring the Crosley brothers, Powel Jr. and Lewis, both of them determined innovators with a dream. The Crosley Car Owners Club (CCOC) is itself honored to have played a small part in facilitating this most valued recognition.[/bold]

New Car Research

Find vehicle reviews, photos & pricing

our instagram

get Automobile Magazine

Subscribe to the magazine and save up to 84% off the newsstand price


new cars

Read Related Articles