2012 Toyota Camry Awarded Five-Star Crash Rating by NHTSA

The 2012 Toyota Camry has received a five-star safety rating from the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration. Toyota credits the safety rating to increased use of high-strength steel and the Camry’s 10 standard airbags.

In NHTSA testing, the safety agency awarded the 2012 Camry four stars for frontal-impact protection, five stars for side impacts, and four stars for rollover protection. Stability control and ABS are standard on the Camry, with a blind-spot monitoring system optional. The 2011 Camry received a four-star overall rating from NHTSA.

The Toyota Camry was redesigned for 2012, and has remained the nation’s top-selling midsize sedan this year, beating rivals like the Nissan Altima and Ford Fusion in sales through the first 11 months of 2011. Toyota also recently announced that it will export models of the Camry built in Georgetown, Kentucky, for sale in South Korea.

Source: Toyota

New Car Research

our instagram

get Automobile Magazine

Subscribe to the magazine and save up to 84% off the newsstand price


new cars

Read Related Articles