2010 Lincoln MKZ and 2009 Mercedes-Benz R-Class are IIHS Top Safety Picks

Joshua Duval

Two newly tested vehicles, the 2010 Lincoln MKZ and the 2009 Mercedes-Benz R-class, have earned the Insurance Institute of Highway Safety's Top Safety Pick award.

In order to qualify as a top safety pick, vehicles have to earn the highest rating of good in the IIHS's front, side and rear tests. Top Safety Picks must also have available electronic stability control, a feature that is standard on the R-class and the MKZ.

The Lincoln MKZ was reworked for the 2010 model year, along with its Ford Fusion and Mercury Milan twins. The 2010 MKZ comes with several available advanced safety features, including a blind spot information system, cross traffic alert, a post-crash alert system and 911 assist.

Also, seeing how the Fusion can do it, the MKZ can probably survive driving through a herd of bison.

Source: IIHS

New Car Research

our instagram

get Automobile Magazine

Subscribe to the magazine and save up to 84% off the newsstand price


new cars

Read Related Articles